Firefly

Firefly, where have you been?

I’ve missed your midnight glow,

And the dance of the souls unseen.

.

I’ve been lost in a dream that is unforgiving-

Of endless exotic parades-

In the darkest of moonless delights;

Where many have fallen into shadow,

And an endless game of charades.

.

Firefly, where have you been?

I’ve missed your midnight glow,

And the dance of the souls unseen.

.

This darkness has overcome my soul-

My heart’s flame is on its last breath-

The fuel that has sustained me,

Is writing its own tune;

With the tears of prophets passed,

And the sweet memories of those yet to come.

.

Firefly, where have you been?

I’ve missed your midnight glow,

And the dance of the souls unseen.

.

Can you hear me calling, silently this night?

The cross of my birth, I can no longer bear.

A glimpse, a sweet utterance, the white light

Of eternity, dancing around my sins laid bare,

In the book of my life.

The quill continues, to write.

.

Firefly, where have you been?

I’ve missed your midnight glow,

And the dance of the souls unseen.

.

The scales of truth, are now before me-

The judgement feather, my soul’s torment-

Free will, the choice, to reach for the door-

Loves knocking in constant rhythm and flow-

The tear falls for those, below.

.

Firefly, your light I see in the distance,

Calling me to wake from this slumber.

But this mind is broken,

Into infinite little reasons.

To build and destroy-

To nurture and forget-

To create with an ancient passion,

Yet live all with regret.

.

Firefly, your power I feel in the distance;

Calling me to arms.

With faith as my sword,

And the wisdom of all destinies.

I will rise again-

I will rise again-

.

.

Ⓒ  Written By: Stelio J.

Leave a Reply

